A Local Favorite: Philco

I absolutely love to cook, but I’m also lucky enough to live in a city with incredible food. From local breweries and gastro pubs to fine Italian restaurants with handmade pasta, you can find pretty much any dining experience you’d want in Columbus.

Another wonderful feature of the Columbus food scene is happy hour. Almost every restaurant and bar in the area has a happy hour for us nine-to-fivers desperate for a cheap drink after a long day.

One of my favorites in the area is Philco.

Philco

Philco is hip diner meets gourmet meals. Duck wings covered in a sweet sticky sauce, meatloaf wrapped in bacon and glazed in hoisin, and cheddar grits with spicy chorizo all grace their menu.

But my absolute favorite dish is the Nutella Grilled Cheese. Nutella, house made jam, and Havarti and Ohio cheddar cheese come together between two thick slices of bread grilled to gooey perfection.

Nutella Grilled Cheese

What’s better? During happy hour it’s only two dollars! Between that and half priced Ohio drafts, their happy hour is one of my favorites.

I didn’t get my fill of cheese with the Nutella Grilled Cheese, so I had to go for some local fried cheese curds. These fried gems of gooey goodness dipped in a creamy dipping sauce are almost as indulgent as that delicious grilled cheese.

Local Fried Cheese Curds

And to top it all off: hush puppies. You can order your hush puppies savory or sweet. My sweet tooth was satisfied with the Nutella Grilled Cheese, so I went with savory, but I’ll be back to try the sweet option.

Hush puppies

This upscale take on a fried favorite plated over a creamy sauce makes a great snack to pair with your happy hour priced beer.

Andrew went with a more legitimate meal of a burger and fries. The patties were fresh and juicy and the thick, hand cut fries were fried to crispy perfection.

Burger and fries

In case it wasn’t completely obvious, all of the food here is incredible. Every time I go I have the delightful problem of wanting to order everything on the menu. Happy hour, late night dinners, and brunch are all served up to perfection at Philco. So next time you’re looking for a fresh, delicious meal in a low key atmosphere, check out this hip, gourmet diner!

P.S. I apologize for the low quality photos. The lighting in Philco provides an excellent atmosphere, but my camera did not agree.

Leave a Reply

