Lemon Berry Muffins

This weekend was pretty insane. Between taking the GRE, Christmas shopping, and Andrew’s work holiday party, I was up for about 22 hours straight. So, I had every intention of posting this yesterday, but instead spent the day recovering.

I’m starting the long path to graduate school, and working full time, studying, and trying to immerse myself in the literary world has kept me pretty busy. But I’m now one step closer to a new chapter in my life. Just a few more months of long nights and I’ll be on my way! But anyway, on to the muffins.

I’m always looking for new breakfast options and I love muffins, but the store bought ones always seem artificial and horribly sweet to me. Luckily, making your own is quick, easy, and allows for lots of creativity!

Muffins and Coffee Cup

I decided to go with a sweet berry muffin, then added lemon zest to brighten them up a bit.

Muffin Sliced

I used blueberries and raspberries, but I think most berry combinations would work here. Or you could go in a completely different direction and try a savory muffin. Get creative and use whatever you have on hand! Or go with this recipe for a wonderful combination of sweet blueberries, tart raspberries, and bright lemon zest.

Top of Muffins

Lemon Berry Muffins

  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 stick butter, softened, plus more for greasing
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1.5 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • Zest from one lemon
  • 1 cup blueberries
  • 1 cup raspberries, roughly chopped

Let’s Cook

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Grease a 12 count muffin tin.
  2. In a large mixing bowl, combine the flour, salt, and baking powder.
  3. In a separate bowl, cream the butter and sugar. Add in the eggs, vanilla, and milk.
  4. Add the wet ingredients to the dry and stir until combined.
  5. Fold in the lemon zest and berries. Distribute the batter evenly into the greased muffin tin. Bake for 20-25 minutes.
  6. Enjoy!

Muffin Close Up

 

Leave a Reply

