Arroz con Pollo Verde

This past week, I decided to torture myself with a 3 day modified juice cleanse. Breakfast, lunch, and every second in between consisted of guzzling juices filled with a month’s worth of fruits and veggies. For dinner, one more juice and a light solid food meal. The idea of not eating anything was far beyond what I could handle. Did I love it? No. I was cranky, hungry, and headahcey. That being said, it did feel like a nice reset after the indulgences of the holidays. My cravings for sugar are down and my portion sizes have returned to normal. And I did end up with a few delicious juices I’ll be incorporating into my normal diet. Will I do it again? Maybe after I forget how much I hated it.

But anyway, on to the main event. This meal definitely would not have fit into my “one light meal” cleanse, but it is delicious, easy, and results in only one dirty dish. This is a great week night meal when you’re too tired to slave away at the stove for hours.

Arroz con Pollo TopThe spices and salsa verde add a boost of complex flavor to this classic chicken and rice dish. Top your finished meal with avocado, lime, cilantro, or queso for a hearty mid week meal.

ACP sideArroz con Pollo

  • 2 chicken breasts, cut into 4 pieces
  • 1.5 cups chicken broth
  • 1 cup salsa verde
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 cup white rice
  • 1 can black beans
  • 1/2 cup shredded cheese
  • 1/2 tsp. cumin
  • 1/2 tsp. chili powder
  • 1/4 tsp. crushed red pepper
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1 tbls. olive oil
  • salt and pepper to taste

Let’s Cook

  1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.
  2. In an oven safe dish, heat olive oil over medium heat. Saute garlic until soft and fragrant, 2 minutes.
  3. Season chicken breasts with salt and pepper. Add to pan and sear on all sides until nicely browned, 3 minutes per side.
  4. Set chicken aside. Deglaze the pan with the chicken broth. Add salsa, cumin, chili powder, crushed red pepper, bay leaf, rice, and beans.
  5. Nestle the chicken into the rice mixture. Bake for 35-40 minutes, adding water if the dish appears dry.
  6. Cover in cheese and bake until melted.
  7. Serve with avocado, cilantro, or lime.

ACP close

Leave a Reply

