Spicy Roasted Garlic Hummus

Full disclosure: I absolutely love potato chips. That crunchy, salty snack is seriously addicting. But I don’t always feel great after killing a full bag. This is where hummus comes in. Veggies and pita chips dipped in hummus satisfy my cravings for salty, crunchy snacks while keeping my food guilt at bay.

I’d seen a bunch of recipes for homemade hummus online, but always shied away from the task, mostly because I didn’t know where to find tahini in the grocery store (I found it in the Mediterranean section, by the way). But after this batch, I’ll definitely be making my own more often. It tastes even better than the store bought stuff, saves a little bit of money, and let’s me get creative with different flavor combinations! I tried my hand at a spicy roasted garlic variation. Try this one out or omit the garlic and cayenne for traditional hummus.

Pepper and Hummus

Spicy Roasted Garlic Hummus

  • 1 can chickpeas, drained with liquid reserved
  • 1/3 cup tahini
  • Juice from one lemon
  • 1 tbls. olive oil (plus 1 more tbls if you are roasting your own garlic)
  • 5 cloves roasted garlic
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. cayenne

Let’s Cook

  1. If you are roasting your own garlic, preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Chop the top 1/4 inch off of a head of garlic. Drizzle one tablespoon of olive oil over the cut end of the garlic. Wrap in foil and roast in the preheated oven for 45 minutes.
  2. Remove the garlic from the oven and let cool. Squeeze 5 cloves of garlic from their casings.
  3. Add all ingredients to a food processor and process on high until smooth. If the hummus looks too thick, add a splash of the reserved chickpea liquid and process again. Continue to add liquid until the desired consistency is reached.

How easy was that?

DSC_0041

Leave a Reply

