A Mother’s Day Surprise

As many of you already know, some career moves have left me in a weird state of limbo the last few weeks. So, between one job and another, I had a week off to visit my parents. Virginia never appealed to me while I lived there, but every time I go back I am struck by how beautiful it really is. Colonial homes, wineries, and horse farms dot every other mile. Granted, you also have to put up with the ticks and humidity, but you can’t have it all.

After a surprise lunch, my parents and I sipped wine on the porch of a local winery.

whine in bucket

Virginia wines may not be the best in the world, but you can’t beat the scenery.

DSC_0015

Several day’s worth of drinking and eating left us in DC visiting the Eastern Market. This outdoor market is a beautiful site, with everything from fresh, local produce, to homemade soups, to hand-woven baskets. But, of course, the only thing we ended up buying was more food.

If I ever end up back at the Eastern Market, which I most definitely will try to, I’ll be visiting this wood fired pizza joint again. Located just around the corner of the Eastern Market, Seventh Hill Pizza serves up thin, chewy crust pizza topped with the most flavorful ingredients. Of our prosciutto, mozzarella, and roasted red pepper pizza, the roasted red peppers really shone through, bursting with wood fired flavor.

DSC_0055

To accompany our pizza, we decided to share one of their sandwiches. When I do come back, it will be a pretty tough choice between this incredible sandwich and the aforementioned incredible pizza. I may just end up with both again.

DSC_0052

Even having several more days than usual, I wasn’t quite ready to leave home. Every time I am back, I’m reminded how lucky I am to have such wonderful, supportive, and fun-loving parents. There is no doubt I’ll be back soon for another weekend full of excellent food, wine, and company.

Leave a Reply

