Avocado Shrimp Salad

Those of you that saw my last post may remember that Monday was my first day on my Whole30 journey. I’m already missing a few staples (I’m looking at you, bread), but I’m excited to get a clean slate and discover the best foods for my body. So for the next 4 weeks, all of my recipes will be Whole30 compliant and, of course, delicious!

I thought I’d start this month out with something simple: a shrimp and avocado salad. This recipe was inspired by a similar salad my mom often makes. Usually, I’ll eat her salad with chips or crostini, but today I used endive leaves as my crunchy, savory vessel.

DSC_0030

This salad is a delicious combination of creamy avocado, acidic lime juice, and spicy jalapeno. And with minimal cooking time, this salad can be thrown together in just a few minutes! Serve it as a main dish with a side or as a light, but impressive appetizer.

Shrimp and Avocado Salad

  • 1/2 pound shrimp, peeled and deveined
  • 1 large clove of garlic, minced
  • 1/2 jalapeno, seeded and chopped
  • 1 tbls + 1 tsp olive oil, divided
  • Juice of 1 lime, divided
  • 1/4 cup diced red onion
  • 1 medium avocado, diced
  • 2 tbls. chopped cilantro
  • 8 endive leaves
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  1. Heat a pan over medium heat with 1 tablespoon of olive oil. When the oil begins to look wavy, add the garlic and jalapeno. Cook until the garlic is fragrant, but not browned, about 1 minute.
  2. Add the shrimp to the pan. Season with salt and pepper. Cook, stirring occasionally, until the shrimp is cooked through and no longer translucent, about 5 minutes.
  3. Transfer the shrimp to a large bowl and add juice from half a lime. Toss and cool in the refrigerator for 30-60 minutes.
  4. While the shrimp cools, prepare your other ingredients. When the shrimp has cooled, add the onion, avocado, cilantro, and 1 teaspoon olive oil. Toss to combine.
  5. Spoon the shrimp salad into the endive salad cups. Garnish with fresh cilantro.

DSC_0031

Leave a Reply

